New Echota Historic Site


Saturday, November 3, 2018

Native American Heritage Day
Saturday, Nov 3, 2018 10 AM to 4 PM
New Echota Historic Site - Calhoun, GA
Join staff, Friends of New Echota volunteers and special Cherokee guests as the historic Capital of New Echota comes alive with living history demonstrations, tours, games and music. $5.50-$7 706-624-1321.

Saturday, January 5, 2019

First Week Hike at New Echota
Saturday, Jan 5, 2019 10 AM to 12 PM
New Echota Historic Site - Calhoun, GA
Start the year off right with a First Week Hike at New Echota State Historic Site. The hike will begin at 10:00 AM. Contact the park for more details. Free with admission. 706-624-1321.

Saturday, March 30, 2019

Guided Lantern Tour
Saturday, Mar 30, 2019 7 PM to 9 PM
New Echota Historic Site - Calhoun, GA
Tour New Echota State Historic Site by lantern light. See the park from the perspective of an 1800s visitor and see the park after dark. This event has limited space. Call the park to reserve your spot. $7 - $9. 706-624-1321.

Saturday, April 20, 2019

Earth Day
Saturday, Apr 20, 2019 10 AM to 12 PM
New Echota Historic Site - Calhoun, GA
Wildflower walk along the nature trail. Free with admission. 706-624-1321.

Saturday, May 4, 2019

Living History Day
Saturday, May 4, 2019 10 AM to 4 PM
New Echota Historic Site - Calhoun, GA
Enjoy the sounds, taste and smells of yesteryear. Tours of historic buildings will be available and demonstrations of life skills common at the time of the Trail of Tears will be demonstrated. Park rangers, a visiting Cherokee artist and Friends of New Echota volunteers will bring the early 19th century Cherokee Nation capital alive again. Free with admission. 706-624-1321.

Saturday, July 20, 2019

Kid's Day at New Echota State Historic Site
Saturday, Jul 20, 2019 10 AM to 2 PM
New Echota Historic Site - Calhoun, GA
New Echota State Historic Site will be offering different activities all day long for kids of all ages. Come and experience what life was like during the 1800s. Activities include: quill pen writing, finger weaving, corn husk dolls, fire-starting and many more. Free with admission. 706-624-1321.