Etowah Indian Mounds Historic Site


Sunday, December 15, 2019

Make and shoot your own Blow Darts
Sunday, Dec 15, 2019 2 PM to 3 PM
Etowah Indian Mounds Historic Site - Cartersville, GA
Make and shoot your own blow darts! Join us at 2:00 pm to learn about blow darts and how they were used in the Southeast, then make and shoot your own. Pre-Registration is required for this program, call 770-387-3747 to reserve your spot. Please make sure you arrive on time so you are able to participate. Suitable for ages 6 and older. $4-$6 plus $2 program fee. 770-387-3747.

Tuesday, December 17, 2019

Ask the Naturalist
Tuesday, Dec 17, 2019 2 PM to 2:30 PM
Etowah Indian Mounds Historic Site - Cartersville, GA
Ask our Naturalist questions about the history or the site, surrounding features and wildlife. $2-$6. 770-387-3747.

Wednesday, December 18, 2019

Learn how to play Stickball
Wednesday, Dec 18, 2019 2 PM to 2:30 PM
Etowah Indian Mounds Historic Site - Cartersville, GA
Learn about Stickball and how it influenced modern sports and then try your hand at playing. $2-$6. 770-387-3747.

Friday, December 20, 2019

Skulls and Skins
Friday, Dec 20, 2019 2 PM to 2:30 PM
Etowah Indian Mounds Historic Site - Cartersville, GA
Come learn about skull and animal hide identification and how Native Americans at Etowah utilized bones and fur. $2-$6. 770-387-3747.

Sunday, December 22, 2019

Make and shoot your own Blow Darts
Sunday, Dec 22, 2019 2 PM to 3 PM
Etowah Indian Mounds Historic Site - Cartersville, GA
Make and shoot your own blow darts! Join us at 2:00 pm to learn about blow darts and how they were used in the Southeast, then make and shoot your own. Pre-Registration is required for this program, call 770-387-3747 to reserve your spot. Please make sure you arrive on time so you are able to participate. Suitable for ages 6 and older. $4-$6 plus $2 program fee. 770-387-3747.

Thursday, December 26, 2019

River Walk
Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 2 PM to 2:30 PM
Etowah Indian Mounds Historic Site - Cartersville, GA
Walk the Etowah River with the Naturalist and learn about the history, and wildlife surrounding it. $2-$6. 770-387-3747.

Friday, December 27, 2019

Roving Naturalist
Friday, Dec 27, 2019 2 PM to 2:30 PM
Etowah Indian Mounds Historic Site - Cartersville, GA
Our Naturalist will be roving the park with interesting pieces of history and nature to share with the guests $2-$6. 770-387-3747.

Sunday, December 29, 2019

Make and shoot your own Blow Darts
Sunday, Dec 29, 2019 2 PM to 3 PM
Etowah Indian Mounds Historic Site - Cartersville, GA
Make and shoot your own blow darts! Join us at 2:00 pm to learn about blow darts and how they were used in the Southeast, then make and shoot your own. Pre-Registration is required for this program, call 770-387-3747 to reserve your spot. Please make sure you arrive on time so you are able to participate. Suitable for ages 6 and older. $4-$6 plus $2 program fee. 770-387-3747.

Tuesday, December 31, 2019

Last Day Hike
Tuesday, Dec 31, 2019 4 PM to 5 PM
Etowah Indian Mounds Historic Site - Cartersville, GA
Celebrate the last day of 2019 with a short guided hike. The tour will include both history and nature features of the site. $2-$6 admission fee $2-$6 plus $5 parking. 770-387-3747.

Wednesday, January 1, 2020

Etowah's First Day Hike
Wednesday, Jan 1, 2020 9:30 AM to 11 AM
Etowah Indian Mounds Historic Site - Cartersville, GA
Start the New Year with a Short 1 1/2 mile hike around the mounds. Learn about the site's history and be prepared to experience the nature at our site on New Year's Day. $2-$6. 770-387-3747.

Saturday, January 4, 2020

First Saturday Hike 2020
Saturday, Jan 4, 2020 9 AM to 11 AM
Etowah Indian Mounds Historic Site - Cartersville, GA
Celebrate the first weekend of the year with a short guided hike. The tour will include both, history and nature features of the site. $2 - $6. 770-387-3747.

Friday, January 10, 2020

Star Gazing at the Mounds
Friday, Jan 10, 2020 5 PM to 7 PM
Etowah Indian Mounds Historic Site - Cartersville, GA
Join us at Etowah to enjoy sunset and moon rise on top of Mound A, and create a star wheel to help you navigate the night sky. After stargazing enjoy a warm fire with s'mores and Native American storytelling. $2-$6. 770-387-3747.

Sunday, February 9, 2020

Super Museum Sunday at Etowah
Sunday, Feb 9, 2020 9 AM to 5 PM
Etowah Indian Mounds Historic Site - Cartersville, GA
Don't miss your chance to visit Etowah Indian Mounds for free. A guided tour of the site starts at 12:30 and 2:30 p.m Join us in welcoming renown author and archaeologist Adam King, who will be giving a lecture on Native American Iconography. 770-387-3747.

Saturday, March 21, 2020

Etowah Heritage Day
Saturday, Mar 21, 2020 10 AM to 4 PM
Etowah Indian Mounds Historic Site - Cartersville, GA
Come learn how cultures of the past still permeate our modern lives. Start with a beginners Genealogy Lecture and Workshop in the morning, starting at 10 AM. Then, there will be a lecture on Creek and Cherokee culture by Dr. Max White at 1:00 PM. $2-$6. 770-387-3747.

Sunday, March 22, 2020

Etowah Heritage Day
Sunday, Mar 22, 2020 10 AM to 4 PM
Etowah Indian Mounds Historic Site - Cartersville, GA
Come learn how cultures of the past still permeate our modern lives. Start with a beginners Genealogy Lecture and Workshop in the morning, starting at 10 AM. Then, there will be a lecture on Creek and Cherokee culture by Dr. Max White at 1:00 PM. $2-$6. 770-387-3747.

Saturday, April 11, 2020

Tools and Weapons
Saturday, Apr 11, 2020 10 AM to 4 PM
Etowah Indian Mounds Historic Site - Cartersville, GA
Learn about the tools and weapons early indigenous peoples used in every day life. $2-$6. 770-387-3747.
Accessible 

Saturday, May 2, 2020

Celebrate Archaeology & Artifact Identification Day
Saturday, May 2, 2020 10 AM to 4 PM
Etowah Indian Mounds Historic Site - Cartersville, GA
A professional archaeologist will be available to date and identify artifacts brought by visitors. Many interesting and unusual items will be shown. Bring your items, heirlooms, and imagination for a day of fun. Renown author and archaeologist Adam King will be at the site giving a lecture on archaeology. $2-$6. 770-387-3747.
Accessible 

Saturday, June 6, 2020

National Trails Day and Mud Day
Saturday, Jun 6, 2020 10 AM to 4 PM
Etowah Indian Mounds Historic Site - Cartersville, GA
Come take a short guided hike down the nature trail along the Etowah River with the Interpretive Ranger/Naturalist. After the hike come get closer to nature and play in the mud. Join us for clay sculpting and make gorgets, animals, or pottery as you learn about the different uses that Native Americans had for clay. $2 - $6. 770-387-3747.
DIRT Event 

Sunday, June 7, 2020

Day of Discovery and Scavenger Hunt Challenge
Sunday, Jun 7, 2020 10 AM to 4 PM
Etowah Indian Mounds Historic Site - Cartersville, GA
Get outdoors in the D.I.R.T. and learn about Native American life, archaeology, and nature through fun activities like The Scavenger Hunt Challenge where guests get outside to see and do things around the park. $2 - $6. 706-387-3747.
DIRT Event 

Saturday, July 4, 2020

Etowah Games Day 2020
Saturday, Jul 4, 2020 10 AM to 4 PM
Etowah Indian Mounds Historic Site - Cartersville, GA
Come enjoy learning about sports and simple games that were played in the past. try your skills at simple games. $2 - $6. 770-387-3747.

Saturday, September 26, 2020

Etowah Indian Mounds Annual Clean-up 2020 - Your State Park Day
Saturday, Sep 26, 2020 10 AM to 4 PM
Etowah Indian Mounds Historic Site - Cartersville, GA
Have fun celebrating National Public Lands Day and Your State Park Day, with other volunteers at Etowah Indian Mounds State Historic Site and help us with trail maintenance and cleanup. $2- $6. 770-387-3747.

Saturday, October 3, 2020

Skills of the Past
Saturday, Oct 3, 2020 10 AM to 4 PM
Etowah Indian Mounds Historic Site - Cartersville, GA
International Archaeology Day is celebrated each October. At Etowah we celebrate it each year on the first Saturday of the month. Come see demonstrations of primitive skills that were essential to the Native Americans of the Southeast in prehistoric times. $2 - $6. 770-387-3747.

Sunday, October 4, 2020

Skills of the Past
Sunday, Oct 4, 2020 10 AM to 4 PM
Etowah Indian Mounds Historic Site - Cartersville, GA
International Archaeology Day is celebrated each October. At Etowah we celebrate it each year on the first Saturday of the month. Come see demonstrations of primitive skills that were essential to the Native Americans of the Southeast in prehistoric times. $2 - $6. 770-387-3747.